© Marie Magnin

INVARIANTS – Bach, Levinas, Takemitsu

Working on time – sometimes relaxed, sometimes constrained – rather than on dynamics, imperceptibly approaching dance and the movements it induces, these are the starting points of the Invariants project.

Interspersed between three Trio Sonatas for Organ by Johann-Sebastian BACH, Rain Tree (1981) by Tōru TAKEMITSU and Les Invariants (2021) by Michaël LEVINAS take the German composer’s works back and forth in time.
Several centuries after their composition, these sonatas continue to adapt to their time without losing their essence, and the presence of works from our own time reminds us that Johann Sebastian Bach remains very much alive. 


Trio No. 1 in Eb major BWV 525 – Jean Sebastian Bach (1729-1730)
Les Invariants – Michaël Levinas (2021)
Trio No. 3 in D minor BWV 527 – Jean Sebastian Bach (1729-1730)
Rain Tree – Tōru Takemitsu (1981)

Concert at 13h30, 15h30 et 17h30
MIRY Concert Hall